It is obvious that Lucéram of the thirteenth - fifteenth centuries was under the auspices of the House of Anjou. (Historians and archaeologists can judge it from the studied fragments of the fortifications, preserved of the medieval town, old houses and castles).
The County of Nice, of which Lucéram was a part, became part of the Duchy of Savoy in the late XIVth century. Since then, changes came in the life of the town – partnerships with neighboring municipalities and cities were improved and the turnover was increased.
In the Middle Ages, the so-called «salt road» passed through Lucéram. There was not enough salt, and the road was paved in the possession, on which the caravans of mules brought «white gold» from the ports of Nice and Villefranche in all domains of the Principality.
At the same time, on the north side of the town, a new line of the ramparts - fortified walls with high observation tower of 15 meters was added. Moreover, the fortified wall with the height of about 2 floors «girded» Lucéram completely, protecting the town from enemy invasion in a reliable manner. (And now, in some places, we can see the loopholes through which the defenders of the town were shooting arrows).
In the town of Lucéram, there is also the gate, erected yet in 1388 (when the town belonged to the House of Savoie). The gate protected the city against the penetration of the enemy spies and thieves. Now, only the gate said the South Gate (Lera), of the two doors that existed at that time, has been preserved; it was restored in 1925.
The streets of the old town are winding, narrow and sloping, while walking on their «cunning intertwining» the visitors can admire the restored gothic houses of extraordinary beauty, made of gray local stone. You will see the doors with the plates on which the ancient dates are engraved, arches and vaults, ovens for baking bread and small fountains.
In the center of the town you will see a beautiful church St. Margaret (Église Sainte-Marguerite de Lucéram), built on donations of the local merchant named Jacques Bonfils. (The construction of the church St. Margaret (Église Sainte-Marguerite de Lucéram). The construction of the church of Sainte-Marguerite Lucéram was undertaken from 1487. In 1525, the church was completed. Archaeological investigations attest to the fact that the construction of the church was carried out within the old walls of the Castle of the Counts Anjou (château des comtes d'Anjou)). The interior of the church was renovated in Baroque style with Rococo style elements in the late seventeenth century. Louis Brea (Ludovico Brea), the famous artist, painted the altar of the church around the year 1498. In 1775, the altar of the church was «dismembered»; its central part was enclosed in the decorative bronze coating.
The town of Lucéram has a very interesting museum - the Museum of the Creche (Musée de la Crèche), located on the Place Adrien Baralis. Every year at Christmas, in this picturesque mountain town, you can see over 450 different creches – the largest exhibition depicting the scene of the birth of the child Jesus. These cribs are made of different materials: from creches, made of walnut shells to the installations of 10 meters! Different creches here are literally everywhere: in the churches in the streets, in the museum, near the fountains, etc.